Book Review – Now You See Her – Heidi Perks*

Goodreads Description
SHE WAS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. AND NOW SHE’S MISSING.

Unputdownable psychological suspense from an exciting new talent, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and I Let You Go.

NOW YOU SEE HER
She’s playing at the school fete with your children. You pull out your phone, scroll through Facebook, and look up again.

NOW YOU DON’T
Charlotte is looking after her best friend’s daughter the day she disappears. She thought the little girl was playing with her own children. She swears she only took her eyes off them for a second.

Now, Charlotte must do the unthinkable, tell her best friend Harriet that her only child is missing. The child she was meant to be watching.

Devastated, Harriet can no longer bear to see Charlotte. No one could expect her to trust her friend again.

Only now she needs to. Because two weeks later Harriet and Charlotte are both being questioned separately by the police. And secrets are about to surface.

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO PUT THINGS RIGHT?

Now you see her Heidi Perks

Review – No Spoilers

After reading the blurb of this book on NetGalley I knew I had to read it. I was lucky enough to be given a copy to review and I have to say this is one book I am so glad I had the opportunity to read before it was published because I’ve got a feeling everyone is going to be talking about it this summer.

When Harriet needs to go on a bookkeeping course, her best (and only) friend Charlotte offers to watch her 4-year-old daughter Alice. Harriet has never left Alice before and is a bit nervous but Charlotte assures her Alice, along with her 3 children will be fine at the school fete.

At the fete, Alice and 2 of Charlotte’s children run off towards the inflatable obstacle run. 3 children go on but only 2 come off. Where is Alice? She was there one minute and gone the next, how can she just disappear into thin air?

It’s every mother’s worst nightmare to lose a child but how would you feel if you lost someone elses?

This is a really well-written thriller. It leads you to think one way all the while taking you in a different direction. I kept trying to guess what was going to happen next and failing. Written from both Harriet and Charlotte’s point of view and flitting between the past and the present, it can be a little hard to keep up with in places but in general I think telling the story in that way worked really well.

As pieces from Harriet’s past are revealed through diary entries, we come to understand more about her as a person and why she comes across as so shy and nervous. There are some dark parts to this book but it is always interesting and always thrilling. There is plenty of action and I could not put this book down. In fact, I read the whole thing in pretty much 1 sitting as there was no break in the intensity, no point where I could have stopped reading and left it until another day.

Heidi Perks has done a fantastic job with this book. For me, it never strayed so far from reality that it became hard to believe but also never became predictable. It is relevant with social media references and relatable, who hasn’t had a quick flick through their phone whilst watching the kids at a park/on a bouncy castle? I know I have (though will be less inclined to after reading this!). Charlotte’s reaction when she first realises Alice has gone missing, her reluctance to call put a tannoy out because that will be admitting she had lost a child, is exactly how anyone would feel and I didn’t find it difficult to empathise with her, especially as the story developed.

I have never come across Heidi’s writing before but will certainly be keeping an eye out for her books in future!

Final Scores

This is a dark, intense, fast paced thriller, once you start this book you won’t be able to put it down.

I give it 5/5 stars and highly recommed it.

Review of Now You See Her by Heidi Perks
If you like this post why not Pin it for later?

*I was gifted this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Now You See Her – Heidi Perks*

  1. Must have been an amazing book for you to give it 5/5! I loved The Couple Next Door so I guess I will enjoy this too. There are so many psychological thriller books at the moment and I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was, I don’t give 5 stars out very often, only if I really love the book! I enjoyed Thw Couple Next door and this reminded me of it a little but I thought this was slightly better so you would definitely enjoy it! There is so many lately it can be hard to know which one to go for!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s